- County Treasurer / Motor Vehicle
- Motor Vehicle
The Motor Vehicle Department serves as an agent for the State Department of Revenue / Division of Vehicles and is responsible for vehicle registration, titling, issuing license plates, and driver’s license renewals.
NEW QUE SYSTEM To schedule an appointment for Motor Vehicle or Driver's License, scan the code, click below on Schedule an Appointment, or call 913-294-4164. Walk-ins are welcome but appointments are encouraged and will be waited on first at their appointed times. Walk-ins will need to stop at the Kiosk in the hallway or the information desk to get in line. If you are over 15 minutes late for your appointment, your appointment will be cancelled.
Notice to vehicle owners transferring vehicle(s) to Kansas from Out of State
Starting Monday, August 16th, 2021, for the State of Kansas to be in compliance with federal regulations, the Motor Vehicle Office will no longer be able to issue courtesy registrations for vehicles without titles. NMVTIS (National Motor Vehicle Title Information System), was established under the Anti Car Theft Improvements Act of 1996. It is a tool designed to assist state vehicle agencies, vehicle title investigators and law enforcement in deterring and preventing vehicle related crimes. It is intended to protect consumers from fraud and unsafe vehicles.
If you are currently not in possession of your title due to financing it, you need to contact your lienholder and have the title sent to the Miami County Treasurer, 201 S Pearl St, Ste 103 Paola, KS 66071. For additional questions, you may contact Miami County Treasurer's office at 913-294-4164.
Accepted Methods of Payment
- Renew Vehicle Registration Online with KS Web-Tags. To renew online using a credit/debit card or by eCheck you must have your PIN number located on your vehicle registration application. Please allow 7 to 10 business days to receive you registration receipt and decal by mail. Please remember to save your confirmation number. There will be a convenience fee charged by the payment processor for this service. Some registrations may not qualify for electronic renewal.
- Renew by Mail. To renew by mail you may send a check, money order or cashier’s check along with valid proof of insurance. You may write one check if renewing multiple vehicles. Please allow 7 to 10 business days to receive your registration and decal by mail.
- In Person. To renew in person you may use cash, credit card, check, money order or cashier’s check. As of January 1, 2014, a $2.50 facility fee will be assessed per vehicle renewal on all transactions done in office. To avoid this fee, you can mail your renewals to our office or utilize the drop box. There is a convenience fee charged by the payment processor of 2.49% for using a credit card (the County does not retain any portion of this fee). Every measure of safety and reliability has been implemented in regards to this transaction process.
- Drop Box. If you are paying by check, money order or cashier’s check, you may utilize the drop box located on the south side of the Miami County Administration Building.
There will be a $30.00 service charge for each returned check, eCheck or credit/debit card payment.