DL Extensions due to COVID-19
The following extension applies to DL:
Kansas DL and ID cards that expired or will expire between March 12, 2020 through March 30, 2021 must be completed by June 30, 2021, or normal late fees will be assessed. Any credentials expiring after the March 30, 2021 date do not have an extension.
State Driver’s License Renewal & Replacement
Note: Miami County is not a full service Driver’s License Station. For other driver’s license station information check the Kansas driver’s license exam stations list. Renewal and replacement licenses are available in the Miami County Treasurer’s Office. Persons wanting to change from an out-of-state license to a State of Kansas License or first-time Kansas license, need to apply at a full service Driver’s License Station. Other transactions that would require a full service station includes: renewal transactions if expired more than one year; concealed carry licenses; applicants with Registered Offender status; drive exams and testing (online or written); and reinstatements. This listing is not all inclusive, but meant for additional information.
Effective January 1, 2006, the State of Kansas changed the Commercial Drivers License (CDL) Renewal locations to full service stations only. For more information please visit the Kansas driver’s license exam stations list.
Note: All license applicants must be present.
- The driver’s license or substitute identification must be presented
- Two proofs of principle residency address such as a utility bill, the renewal postcard, property tax bill, or school form
- Vision examination: The results of the in office eye examination must be 20/40 or better in at least one eye. If the in office reading is not acceptable, the applicant must consult a licensed doctor, and submit the doctors findings on a preauthorized form, with a reading of at least 20/50 in one eye
Renewal Turning 21
If you are turning 21 years old on this renewal, you may not renew prior to your 21st birthday. Effective July 1, 2007, a 45-day extension to renew is allowed. An extension notice can be printed from here, and kept with your license.
Effective August 1, 2017 customers will have the option of obtaining a Real ID compliant Driver’s License renewal or Identification (ID) card renewal in the Miami County Treasurer’s Office.
What is Real ID?
The Federal government Real ID Act establishes minimum security standards for state-issued Driver’s License and ID Cards. The Real ID Act, passed by Congress in 2005, is a coordinated effort by the States and Federal Government to improve the reliability and accuracy of state-issued identification documents, which should inhibit terrorists’ ability to evade detection by using fraudulent identification.
By May 1, 2023 a Read ID compliant Driver’s License or ID card will be required to board a domestic flight or enter designated federal facilities. Anyone who does not have a Real ID after that date, will have to use documentation in addition to their state-issued ID to board a plane or enter a federal facility. For a list of acceptable documentation, please visit tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/identification.
How Do I Get a Real ID?
If you are renewing your license at your renewal date, only regular renewal fees will apply. If you are obtaining a Read ID prior to your renewal date and ONLY the Real ID indicator is being added, the cost is $11.00.
Real ID Indicator
A Real ID compliant Driver's License or ID Card will have a gold circle with a star cutout located in the upper right corner. See sample below.
If you do not bring in the required documents, you will be issued a Non-Real ID compliant Driver's License or ID Card which will have the words "Not For Federal ID" printed on the card. See sample below.