- Rural Fire Protection
- Open Burning
Per Kansas law, open burning operation conditions must adhere to detailed guidelines as specified in Kansas Administrative Regulations 28-19-645, 28-19-646, 28-19-647 & 28-19-648. Violation of these regulations is subject to penalty.
Open Burning Operation Conditions and Burn Permit Requirements
Miami County requires burn permits for open burning in compliance with state statutes and administrative regulations. Burn permits are issued by Miami County Fire Districts 1 and 2 in conjunction with Miami County Emergency Management.
Burn permits are issued at no cost; however, terms and conditions do apply. Violations of the terms and conditions may result in a fine of $250 and assessment of all costs incurred by the fire department(s) extinguishing the fire upon which the violator is convicted.
For residents inside the cities that need burn information:
Contact the Sheriff's Office Dispatch @ (913) 294-3232 - Option 4
No permit required, must contact dispatch prior to burn.
Only allowed on Friday and Saturdays
Call (913) 837-4700 for questions
Call city hall @ (913) 755-2146 for information
Contact Chief Andy Martin @ (913) 406-5543 for information
Call fire station @ (913) 592-3926 for information
Open Burning Restrictions and Requirements:
- The person conducting the burning shall stockpile the material to be burned, dry it to the extent possible before it is burned, and assure that it is free of matter that will inhibit good combustion.
- The controlled burn must be more than 50 feet from a structure.
- Do not use tires, oil, or composition shingles to ignite or accelerate the fire.
- Do not burn anything that creates a dark smoke.
- Insurance coverage is required to cover any damages to property caused by applicants open burning.
- Burning shall not be initiated during the night. This is defined as the period from two hours before sunset until after sunrise. No new material may be added to the fire after two hours before sunset.
- Burning is prohibited during inclement or foggy conditions or on very cloudy days (defined as days with more than 0.7 cloud cover and with a ceiling of less than 2,000 feet).
- Surface wind speeds must be 5 mph and no more than 15 mph.
- Burning is prohibited within 1,000 feet of any occupied dwelling unless the occupant of that dwelling has been notified prior to the burn.
- Burning that creates a traffic or other safety hazard is prohibited. If burning is to take place within 1,000 feet of a roadway, the applicant / person conducting the burn must notify the highway patrol, sheriff's office, or other appropriate state or local traffic authority before the burning begins.
- If burning is to take place within one mile of an airport, the applicant / person conducting the burn must notify the airport authority before the burning begins.
- The applicant / person conducting the burn must insure that the burning is supervised until the fire is extinguished.
Applicant/person conducting the burn can be fined $250 for loss in control of the fire.
A violator may also be assessed all cost incurred by the fire department(s) extinguishing the fire upon which the violator is convicted.
Miami County Fire District's 1 and 2 along with Miami County Government will not be held liable for any damages caused by the burning procedure.
State imposed burning bans negate any issued burn permits for the duration of the burn ban.
Burning shall be prohibited while the following NWS weather advisories are in effect: Red Flag Warning, Fire Weather Watch, Wind Advisory, High Wind Watch, High Wind Warning.